SchoolServer WordPress Extensions

Adam Holt came through NYC this morning on his way to Jamaca, and was talking about extending the idea of schoolserver.wordpress.com. I was describing how I have come to see adequate electrical  power to be a strategic issue in the areas we are trying to serve.  He was describing the efforts of a lot of medium sized deployments to develop content — (he mentioned OLE).

Following on his suggestion,   I created two new wordpress urls: schoolserverpower.wordpress.com and schoolservercontent.wordpress.com.  I intend to start populating the power url with items relating to solar panels, batteries, monitoring equipment.  I’m not particularly involved with content development, but I see it as strategic.  (It seemed to me that grabbing the urls, for free, was worth the risk of them not being used).

I started the schoolserver blog a few months ago, mainly to force myself to use more discipline in documenting my trip to the Philippines.  But then Sameer Verma, asked if he could contribute to it also, and he documented how to create a virtual school server.

I read wiki’s many hours a day, and learn a lot from them.  But it’s also frustrating. I get distracted by ideas that turn out to be unimportant.  I hunger for a good textbook, covering the subjects I want to learn, with someone’s analysis of the relationship between the ideas — maybe with an index and a table of contents. It’s my hope that I can spend enough time learning and thinking about the school server, that  schoolserver.wordpress.com can become the best entry level introduction to the complexities of school servers.

I’m hoping that others might be willing to do the same for their areas of interest and help  impose reasonable structure on all the wiki information at laptop.org.

About George Hunt

Retired electrical engineer and programmer, enthusiastic to see if technology can help education in developing countries.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to SchoolServer WordPress Extensions

  1. vanessa says:

    That’s true!
    Thank you…

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.