XO Charging Sled

Charging sled

Before I realized it wouldn't fit in suitcase

Spent part of the day trying to bring my ideas about how to charge XO’s from a battery more into reality. I started out trying to make a place to charge 10.  After cutting the boards, to a length of about 24 inches, it turned out that there was really only space for 9 XO’s.  Since it was a prototype, I just lowered my sights, and continued developing for 9.

The aluminum bars are big enough to carry the full charging current for 30 or 40  XO’s.  The 110 AHr battery I am expecting to use can really only charge 23 XO’s if they are fully discharged.  Since I’m expecting that most of a class will not have fully discharged XO’s, I hoping that most of the time we can handle 40 slots.  The uncertainty about how much battery is really needed in the classroom is one of the main reasons I’d like to get the arduino micro-monitoring set up.

After it was all pretty much assembled (see picture) I realized that, dissassembled, it wouldn’t fit in my luggage.  So one additional XO was sacrificed!

I wanted to figure out some sort of strain relief for the charging cable and connector.  The slanting hole in the cross piece seems to work.  But it means that I’ll have to wait to do all of the cables until I get the the Philippines, and can do the final assemblhy.

So now I’ll disassemble it all and pack it into my bags.

 

 

About George Hunt

Retired electrical engineer and programmer, enthusiastic about OLPC as a vehicle for gathering together volunteerism, mine and so many others', for helping education in developing countries.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

